Skip to main content

Indigenous / Xwulmuxw Studies: Residential Schools: Primary Sources

Selected resources to guide research related to residential and other schools and Indigenous peoples

Cultural caution statement

Please note that links and resources on this guide may include names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

Primary Sources: Indigenous Peoples, Vancouver Island & Region

These selected sources offer primary documents, images, news, and other information related to First Nations.

Primary Sources: Indigenous Peoples in BC

Primary Sources: Indigenous Peoples in Canada

RG 10 Archival Resources

The RG 10 microfilm reels in the Library collection have been selected for their relevance to First Nations research & study particularly, but not exclusively, for the West Coast region.

This full text resource provides examples of primary material.

RG 10 constitutes the historical records created by the Department of Indian Affairs and includes letters, correspondence, and files on various aspects of Indian administration.

The Library's holdings only represent part of the entire collection held at the National Archives of Canada in Ottawa.

To access these records, search LibrarySearch, or the library catalogue, using the keyword: "RG 10"

There are a total of 45 records which should result, with the call number range E 78 C2 B5 C-xxxx ( x = various numbers).

There is a print guide (located in the Reference collection) that corresponds to each microfilm reel.

The microfilm collection is located in the microfilm cabinets on the main (3rd floor) of the library. (Note: Each record has the title of the information for which the reel was obtained; however, each reel also contains other information not related to the title.)

Examples of RG 10 Archival Microfilms:

General correspondence regarding steps to curtail Potlatch among the Indians of British Columbia (1895-1898)

Victoria, British Columbia correspondence regarding the concubinage of Indian women by white men (1878-1884)

Cowichan agency correspondence regarding Potlatch (1889-1890)

British Columbia : various petitions from Indian bands concerning Indian women unlawfully residing with white men (1872-1891)

British Columbia: reports from various agents as to the truth of newspaper statements that leprosy is being communicated to Indians by the Chinese (1891-1900)

British Columbia problems with medicine men (1891-1922)

General correspondence, reports and newspaper clipping on the preservation of totem poles in British Columbia (1926-1927)

Correspondence regarding the building of a detention home for Indian girls and women in British Columbia (1913-1928)

Cowichan agency (South Island District) : correspondence regarding land for the Nanaimo Indian Day School (1920-1923)

West Coast agency construction of a new residential school at Port Alberni, British Columbia (1939-1940)

West Coast agency correspondence relative to the Port Alberni Residential School, British Columbia (1939)

Cowichan agency Nanaimo Day School: vocational training (1924-1938)

Cowichan agency: right of way for the Esquimalt and Nanaimo Railway through Nanoose Reserve No.1 (1907-1952)

RG 10 Online

RG 10 constitutes the historical records created by the Department of Indian Affairs and includes letters, correspondence, and files on various aspects of Indian administration.

From RG 10, the School Files Series 1879-1953 are available online.

Contact Us!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Make an appointment

Drop-in Research Help

Nanaimo:
 M - F
 9am - 4pm

...also available at 
Cowichan
Powell River

campus libraries

email us

 

 

 

 

Nanaimo:

250.740.6330     

Cowichan:

250.746.3517
Powell River
& Toll Free:
  1.888.920.2221

  ext 6330

Chat (AskAway)

 

 

 

Library Contacts

Library Home