Reference materials consist of items such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, manuals, and atlases that are often referred to for general, overview information.

The following titles are some examples of some online reference materials available in VIU Library and on the web.

Reference materials consist of items such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, manuals, and atlases that are referred to for general, overview information.

The following titles are some examples of some of the print reference materials available at VIU Library:

• The dictionary of forestry
  SD 126 D535 1998   
• Encyclopedia of North American Trees
  QK 110 B46 2000 
• A field guide to western trees : Western United States and Canada
  QK 133 P48 1992 
• Forest ecology and conservation : a handbook of techniques
  QH 541.5 F6 N475 2007 
• Forest fires : a reference handbook
  SD 421 O64 2005 
• Forestry and biodiversity : learning how to sustain biodiversity in managed forests, 2009
  QH 75 F67 2009
• Forestry handbook for British Columbia
  SD 146 B7 F68 2005 

• The misunderstood forest

SD 411 N36 2008

• Native trees of Canada
  QK 486 C2 H6 1990    
• Northwest  trees
  QK 484 N95 A75  
• State of the world’s forests
  SD 131 S72 2009 and 2011 (biennial publication) 
• Silvics of North America
  SD 435 B87 1990 V.1  
• Textbook of dendrology : covering the important forest trees of the United States and Canada
  QK 110 T48 1991 
• Tree and forest measurement
  SD 555 W37 2004  
• Trees, shrubs, and flowers to know in Washington
  QK 192 L6  
• Trees and shrubs of British Columbia
  QK 485.2 B7 B72 1996  
• Trees in Canada
  QK 485 F37 1995