- "a large searchable encyclopedia of the natural history of animals" - species accounts are written by graduate students, therefore, this site "cannot guarantee their accuracy"
- 1892 - 1982, full text online
- this historical compendium of parasitology literature continues to be a key resource to researchers for "parasitology, re-emerging diseases, neglected tropical disease, zoonoses, global animal health, and one health / one medicine"
- provides links to online taxonomy resources for general catagories: algae, fungi, plants, insects, other arthropodes, mulloscs, other invertebrates, other eukaryotes, archea & bacteria, viruses, and culture collections e.g. E coli, Rattus norvegicus
- " provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories" - includes information on classification, characteristics, alternative crops, invasive weeds, culturally significant plants, threatened & endangered species, etc.
- "the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny)"
- "an initiative within the science library community to join international efforts to create and utilize a comprehensive and collaborative catalog of known names of all living (and once-living) organisms"
- "a continuously growing taxonomic database and information system that allows you to search and browse a number of online species banks covering a wide variety of organisms"
- includes how to read an evolutionary tree, how to classify organisms, how to reconstruct an evolutionary tree, and how these evolutionary trees are used
The VIU community acknowledges and thanks the Snuneymuxw, Quw’utsun and Tla’amin, on whose traditional lands we teach, learn, research, live and share knowledge.
Report a Problem
