Skip to main content

Taxonomy and the Classification, Identification, and Nomenclature of Organisms: Reference Materials

phyologeny, systematics, cladistics, cladogram, field guides, species identification

Reference Books - Print Format

Reference materials consist of items such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, manuals, and atlases that are referred to for general, overview information.

 

The following titles are examples of some of the print Reference Materials available in the VIU Library.

 

Ainsworth & Bisby's dictionary of the fungi

QK 603 H38 1983      Stacks

 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of ornithology

QL 672.2 C35             Stacks

 

Dirr's Hardy trees and shrubs : an illustrated encyclopedia

SB 435.5 D556 1997  Stacks        (Note: U.S. tree species)

 

Encyclopedia of birds

QL 672.2 E539 1998    Stacks

 

Encyclopedia of entomology

QL 462.3 E522 2004  v.1-3    Stacks

 

Encyclopedia of insects

QL 462.3 E483 2003  Stacks

 

Encyclopedia of marine mammals

QL 713.2 E53 2002    Stacks

 

Encyclopedia of North American trees

QK 110 B46 2000      Stacks

 

Fishes of the World, 2006

QL 618 N4 2006 Stacks

 

Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia

QL 7 G7813 2003 v. 1-17   Stacks

 

The illustrated encyclopedia of trees

QK 475 M67 2002      Stacks

Taxonomy

Reference Books - Electronic Format

The following titles are examples of VIU Library’s electronic Reference books.  They can be accessed on and off campus via the Internet.

After you select a link, you may need to login with your Library Card and Library PIN to view these electronic resources:

Fisheries Reference Materials

Please see the Fisheries & Aquaculture Library Guide for reference books on their topics: