- includes archaea, bacteria, cyanobacteria, viruses, protists & food webs

- " brings together scientists and managers in the natural, human health and social sciences with their partners from Inuit organizations, northern communities, federal and provincial agencies and the private sector to study the impacts of climate change in the coastal Canadian Arctic."

- "primary objective of this research initiative is to assess the state of CO2 gas source/sink strength of terrestrial ecosystems in the Canadian Arctic and to understand the mechanisms that control carbon balance so that we can predict its potential fate under a changing climate"

- booklet/survey introduces the insect fauna of canada

- provides research data

- includes associations, conferences, suppliers, collections/museums, discussion sites, pest management, publications, taxonomy, etc.

- provides data compiled from the measurement of "the exchanges of carbon dioxide (CO2), water vapor, and energy between terrestrial ecosystems and the atmosphere"

- includes links to animals & habitat, managing air/water/waste, etc.

- 31 pages

- search for research & reports this site e.g. ecosystem

- includes local, regional, and national ecozones (see left sidebar)
- provides a comparison to other countries

- F. Stuart Chapin, 2nd edition

- provides downloadable report (1,042 pages)

- "The NOAA Arctic Change Detection project provides information from near-real time indicators and their potential impacts for the state of the Arctic in an accessible, understandable, and credible format."

- presents "recent indicators that describe the present state of the Arctic climate and ecosystem in an accessible, understandable, and credible historical context."
- (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)

- includes information on changes over time, web of life, carbon and nutrient cycling, snow & ice and more

- chapters discuss the arctic ecosystem, carbon & nutrient recycling, terrestrial ecosystems, snow/ice/water, biological niches, arctic gradients, etc.
- main page of this site also includes relevant topics on the arctic, as well as cases e.g. gas pipeline, Minke Whaling, Reindeer herding.

- an international research organization to "to implement components of the Arctic Environmental Protection Strategy (AEPS)"

- U.S. Geological Survey Biological Science Report: USGS/BRD/BSR-2002-0001
- scroll down the page for the links to the content of the report
- site has sections on biology, geography, geology, and water (listed on the left sidebar)

- "ARCUS facilitates discussion of important arctic research initiatives, produces science reports with research community recommendations for arctic science priorities, and distributes information resources to the arctic research community."

- research focuses on "on interdisciplinary work, including field studies, retrospective investigation, modeling, or synthesis to explore the changing arctic system"
- provides link to main website, summary of research, and links to separate projects which provide data

- includes Arctic climate index, surface temperature changes, as well as information links e.g. "Why and how do scientists study climate change in the Arctic"

- a PhD Dissertation
- search the database: Dissertations and Theses for other theses and dissertations on related topics

- a taxonomy database

- "seeks to examine the response of circumpolar cold adapted plant species to environmental change, specifically to an increase in summer temperature"
- "collaborative effort involving scientists from more than 11 countries, including all the Arctic nations"

- includes carbon monitoring system initiative

- a group promoting science and community-based conservation

- includes glaciers, permafrost, and sea ice

e.g. Biological Research

- report (pdf)

- "an interagency effort to understand the nature, extent, and future development of the system-scale change presently seen in the Arctic"

- an article from the Canadian Journal of Zoology, 2003