Library Guides @ VIU: ANTH/PSYC 338: Death and Dying: Interdisciplinary Perspectives: Articles & Databases

Keywords for Topics on Death & Dying

The following are examples of keywords that can be used to search for journal articles on topics about Death & Dying:

rituals
funeral customs
funeral rites
mortuary/mortuaries
death and elderly
terminal illness
bereavement
grief or grieving
grief counselling
hospice
palliative care
death and culture
death and children
death and religion
death education
death and research
solace
condolence
mourning
sympathy and death
suicide/s
AIDS
euthanasia
right to die
healing
music and dying
music and death
customs
customs of death
ceremonies
coping with death
cemetery/cemeteries
epitaphs
tombstones
gravestone/s

Key Databases for the topic of Death & Dying

Note: Databases are listed in alphabetical order.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with full text journal articles, including peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, full text, scholarly journal archive with strong retrospective coverage.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index and full text linking for medical journals.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles from 1665-2000, with international coverage.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains articles from journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, the American Psychological Association?s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from periodicals in more than 27 languages.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This is a subset of the Web of Science database in the box below.
Index to journals and citations in the social sciences.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.

Supplemental Databases for the topic of Death & Dying

Note: Databases are listed in alphabetical order.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Index to secondary literature with some full text coverage and linking to external full text sources.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides full text journals, including peer-reviewed publications, covering many areas of medical study. Journals available in full text in Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press peer-reviewed journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Cambridge University Press book titles may be available through other Library collections.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search all of VIU's EBSCOhost databases at once.
Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press’s full collection of academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, Date of coverage for most journals is 1996 forward.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text content from SAGE journals, 1999-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals in many disciplines with international coverage in full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexing, cited reference searching, and full text linking for journal articles in Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
International resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly journals, books, and reference works.

Library

ANTH/PSYC 338: Death and Dying: Interdisciplinary Perspectives

Keywords for Topics on Death & Dying

Key Databases for the topic of Death & Dying

Supplemental Databases for the topic of Death & Dying

About VIU

Academics

Campuses

About VIU

Academics

Student Life

Campuses