Skip to Main Content

Our Pledge Ask the Library

Library

Biol 332: Microbial Ecology

microbes, ecosystem, microbe evolution, biogeochemical cycles, terrestrial ecosystem, aquatic ecosystem, pollution control, methodology, relationships with higher organisms, microbiology, bacteria, fungi, N2 fixation, carbon cycle, sulfur cycle, etc.

Reference Materials - in print

Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, 2001, 2nd ed., Volume 1 and 2 (Pt. A-C)
Call Number: QR 81 B46 2001 stacks
Brock biology of microorganisms
Call Number: QR 41.2 B77 2015 Stacks
Encyclopedia of microbiology , 2000
Call Number: QR 9 E53 2000 v. 1-4 Stacks
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 2000
Call Number: QR 9 E53 2000 v. 1-4 Stacks
Field guide to bacteria, 2003
Call Number: QR 100 D946 2003 Stacks
Freshwater planktonic blue-greens (Cyanophyta/Cyanobacteria) of New Zealand : a taxonomic guide, 1988
Call Number: QR 99.8 N45 E8 1987 stacks
Handbook of media for environmental microbiology, 2005
Call Number: QR 66.3 A848 2005 Stacks
Handbook of Media for Environmental Microbiology, 2005
Call Number: QR 66.3 A848 2005 Stackd
Microbial ecology : fundamentals and applications, 1998
Call Number: QR 100 A87 1998 Stacks
Microbiology : an introduction,2016
Call Number: QR 41.2 T67 2016 Stacks
Molecular ecology, 2005
Call Number: QH 541.15 M63 F74 2005 Stacks
Practical handbook of microbiology, 2009
Call Number: QR 72.5 P73 2009 Stacks
Practical manual of groundwater microbiology, 2008
Call Number: QR 105.5 C85 2008 Stacks
Prescott's Microbiology, 2014, 9th edition
Call Number: QR 41.2 P74 2014

Reference Materials - Online (electronic)

Air spora : a manual for catching and identifying airborne biological particles, 2006
Applied Microbiology, 2015
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, 2005, Volume 2, Part A.
- "Vol. 2. The proteobacteria. Part A, Introductory Essays"
Note: Vol.1 is in the stacks, QR 81 B46 2001
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, 2005, Volume 2, Part B
- "Vol. 2. The proteobacteria. Part B, the gammaproteobacteria "
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, 2005, Volume 2, Part C
- "Vol. 2. The proteobacteria. Part C. The alpha-, beta-, delta-, and epsilonproteobacteria"
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, 2009, Volume 3
- " Volume three, The firmicutes"
Note: Vol.1 is in the stacks, QR 81 B46 2001
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology, 2010. Volume 4
- " Volume four, The bacteroidetes, spirochaetes, tenericutes (mollicutes), acidobacteria, fibrobacteres, fusobacteria, dictyoglomi, gemmatimonadetes, lentisphaerae, verrucomicrobia, chlamydiae, and planctomycetes"
Note: Vol.1 is in the stacks, QR 81 B46 2001
Desk encyclopedia of microbiology, 2004
Environmental bioremediation technologies, 2007
Environmental microbiology : a laboratory manual, 2005
Guide to the protozoa of marine aquaculture ponds, 2001
Handbook of media for environmental microbiology, 2005
Handbook on cyanobacteria : biochemistry, biotechnology and applications, 2009
Illustrated dictionary of microbiology, 2010
Manual for soil analysis : monitoring and assessing soil bioremediation , 2005
Manual of environmental microbiology, 2007
- includes chapters on methodology, water microbiology, aquatic environments, aerobiology, biotransformation and biodegradation
Microbial ecology in sustainable agroecosystems, 2013
Online Textbook of Bacteriology - (Kenneth Todar, University of Wisconsin, Department of Bacteriology))
- includes chapters on:The Impact of Microbes on the Environment and Human Activities, Structure and Function of Procaryotes, Nutrition and Growth of Bacteria
Growth of Bacterial Populations, Control of Microbial Growth, The Diversity of Procaryotic Metabolism, Regulation and Control of Metabolic Activities
Bacteriophage, Procaryotes in the Environment, etc.
The prokaryotes, 2006, Vol. 1.
- "Vol. 1. Symbiotic associations, biotechnology, applied microbiology [electronic resource] : a handbook on the biology of bacteria"
The prokaryotes, 2006, Vol. 2.
- "Vol. 2. Ecophysiology and biochemistry : a handbook on the biology of bacteria"
The prokaryotes, 2006, Vol. 3.
- "Vol. 3. Archaea. Bacteria : firmicutes, actinomycetes : a handbook on the biology of bacteria"
The prokaryotes, 2006, Vol. 4.
- "Vol. 4. Bacteria : firmicutes, cyanobacteria : a handbook on the biology of bacteria"
The prokaryotes, 2006, Vol. 5.
- "Vol. 5. Proteobacteria : alpha and beta subclasses : a handbook on the biology of bacteria"
The prokaryotes, 2006, Vol. 6.
- "Vol. 6. Proteobacteria : gamma subclass : a handbook on the biology of bacteria"
The prokaryotes, 2006, Vol. 7.
- "Vol. 7. Proteobacteria : delta and epsilon subclasses, deeply rooting bacteria : a handbook on the biology of bacteria"

VIU Footer

About VIU

Academics

Campuses

About VIU

Academics

Student Life

Campuses

Google Map of Vancouver+Island+University+Locations

Vancouver Island University

900 Fifth Street
Nanaimo, BC
V9R 5S5
Canada

250.753.3245
1.888.920.2221
info@viu.ca

The VIU community acknowledges and thanks the Snuneymuxw, Quw’utsun and Tla’amin, on whose traditional lands we teach, learn, research, live and share knowledge.