Library Guides @ VIU: Biol 332: Microbial Ecology: Articles & Databases

Key Databases

The following databases are listed in alphabetical order:

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press peer-reviewed journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Cambridge University Press book titles may be available through other Library collections.
Nature Online This link opens in a new window
Weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. Full text access 1997 to present.

Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press’s full collection of academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, Date of coverage for most journals is 1996 forward.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text content from SAGE journals, 1999-present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals in many disciplines with international coverage in full text.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Full text journals published by Taylor & Francis, representing Science & Technology, Social Sciences and Humanities disciplines. Coverage from 1997 to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexing, cited reference searching, and full text linking for journal articles in Arts & Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
International resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly journals, books, and reference works.

The following databases are listed in alphabetical order:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with full text journal articles, including peer-reviewed titles.
American Fisheries Society (AFS) Journals This link opens in a new window
e.g. zebrafish
American Fisheries Society (AFS) publishes journals for aquatic resource professionals.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian periodicals from 1982 to date, including some full text.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- scholarly, archival, multidisciplinary database in full text
Multidisciplinary, full text, scholarly journal archive with strong retrospective coverage.

Theses Canada Portal
- "Search all theses in Library and Archives Canada's theses collection, which was established in 1965; and access and search the full text electronic versions of numerous Canadian theses and dissertations."

ISI Journal Title Abbreviations
Journal Abbreviations - (UBC)
CASSI: Cas Source Index Search Tool
- use this tool to "identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications"