Skip to main content

Special Collections: Archives

rare and special books, exploration, discovery, archival fonds, viu publications, barbrook, bowen, museum, historical society, archives, special collections, cultural websites

Sophie Marguerite (Wilmott) Barbrook fonds

Sophie Marguerite (Wilmott) Barbrook (1903-2002) had an adventurous life filled with extensive travel and varied careers as an entrepreneur, editor, translator, author, and educator.  Born in England, she travelled and lived around the world in Germany, Argentina, Uruguay, South Africa, Egypt, Italy, Cyprus, Rhodesia (Zimbabwe), and Spain.  She spoke several languages and  pursued a fascination for the new age sciences.  Mrs. Barbrook finally settled in Victoria, B.C.  During a stint in Cyprus, she became the Foreign Representative for the Kemsley Newspapers where she worked alongside fellow journalist, Ian Fleming, the author of the James Bond series.

Sophie Barbrook’s fonds consist of several series including : correspondence, datebooks, school records, topics, notes, miscellaneous, and manuscripts/drafts of articles and books ranging from 1917-1990s, including the draft of her autobiography, Sophie: A Victorian Life in the 20th Century.

Lynne Bowen fonds

Lynne Bowen was born in Indian Head, Saskatchewan and currently lives in Nanaimo, B.C. She originally trained and practiced in the nursing profession and later earned an M.A. in Western Canadian History from the University of Victoria.  Since then, Lynne Bowen has established a strong reputation as both a lecturer and an author of historical articles and books, particularly pertaining to Nanaimo and Vancouver Island, B.C.

Lynne Bowen’s fonds consist of several series including : correspondence, notes, speeches, manuscripts/drafts of her novels, revisions, editorial notes, review, royalty statements, articles, design notes, and index cards.

Vancouver Island University Publications in Special Collections

The following are examples of various publications by VIU faculty, staff, students, and administration housed in Special Collections - Archives:

 

Aboriginal Publications

  • Student Handbook (Nanaimo), 2008, 2010
  • Lemut Mestimexw: Malaspina College First Nations Student’s Journal
  • NITEP News: Program at Cowichan Campus provided by UBC, 2001-2002(?)
  • English 214: Reader Themes in First Nations Literature, Poems by Marilyn Dumont and Daniel David Moses, 1998 (?)
  • First Nations/ Centre: Celebrate Culture, Honour Diversity (pamphlet)
  • Aboriginal Service Plan, Jan. 30, 2007

                                               

Annual Reports  - (Institutional)

  • Statistical Report and Information Booklet, 1972-1975
  • Malaspina College Annual Report, 1978-1991

 

Alexandro Malaspina Research Centre (AMRC)

  • Annual Report, 2004 –
  • Newsletter, 2004 -      
  • A mapof Vancouver Island (1791), assembled by Alexandro Malaspina's officers (the first charting of Vancouver Island)
  • Lithogrpahs in watercolours by artist, Mario Pegolo depicting three (of the over 100 castles) owned by the Malaspina family in Italy

                       

Blue Book - (Malaspina University-College Consolidated Fund Budget), 1994-2009

      

Board of Governors - Summary of Activities (Report), 2004/05 –

              

Budget - (Budget Process: Budget Planning Process, VIU)

  • Budget Process: Budget Planning Process
  • Budget Letters, 2004-2013
  • Budget Plan, 2005-2016

                                   

Bulletins  -  (Staff, Nanaimo)

  • College Bulletin, 1970-1971
  • College Bulletin- Kennedy Street, 1975-1976
  • Bulletin for Instructors, (also called Staff Bulletin), 1969-1981
  • News Bulletin, (also called Bulletin, also called Faculty & Staff Bulletin), 1990-1999
  • E-Bulletin (also called Bulletin Online), 1999-2005

           

Calendars (VIU), 1969-2007 (ceased printing in 2007)                              

 

Collective Agreements - CUPE, Common Agreement

  • Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 1858, 1975-2010
  • Common Agreements between the Employers’ Bargaining Committee on behalf of member institutions, 1998-2001              

 

Collective Agreements - (Malaspina College Association Collective Agreement)(Faculty Association), 1971-2007                                                                                     

 

Convocation Programs, 1996 -  (missing: June 1998, Dec. 1999, June 2003, Dec. 2009)   

                     

Cowichan Campus - Bulletin: Cowichan Campus Staff Bulletin, 1989-    

              

Cowichan Campus - Student Handbooks, 1999-2003       

               

Cowichan Campus - Student Publications

  • MUC Cow Camp News, 1994
  • Cow Camp Bull Sheet, 1994-1995
  • Cowichan Student’s Voice, 195?- 1996
  • Cowichan Campus Student Newsletter, (also called Student Newsletter and Student News), 1998 -           

 

Disabilities Services Newsletter, 2008 -  2013                             

   

Faculty Handbooks, 1974-1993 (missing 1988-1991)           

 

Financial Planning and Accountability Reports

  • (Audited) Financial Statements  (Alt. title: Consolidated Financial Statements), 2000 -
  • Statement of Financial Information, 2010 -
  • State of the University, 2008-2011, succeeded by Report to the Community
  • Report to the Community, 2015
  • (Institutional) Accountability Plan and Reports, 2006/2007 - 2016/2017

 

Human Rights

  • Malaspina University-College Human Rights Policy, 1993
  • Human Rights: Annual Reports, (alternative title: Human Rights Advisor
  • Annual Report), 1996- 2012
  • Human Rights Policies, various titles and dates from 2001-2012

          

Inside VIU: Connecting the VIU Community, 2012 -          

 

Installation:  Chancellor’s Convocation, Chief Shawn Atleo (A-In-chut), 2008 and

                     President’s Convocation, Ralph Nilson, 2007 (oversize storage)

 

Institutional Partnership Agreements

  • San Antonio College, Texas,  Undated
  • Bay of Plenty Polytechnic, Tauranga , New Zealand,  Undated
  • Holland College, Prince Edward Island, 1989
  • University of Victoria, British Columbia, 1990
  • Altai State University, Russia,  1995
  • Mejiro University, Japan, 1995
  • North Island College, Vancouver Island, 1996

 

Institutional Strategic Research Plans - 2001, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2014

               SSHRC 3 Year research Development Plan: Creating Capapcity 2002-2005, 2005-2008

 

Integrated Planning (@ VIU)

  •  The Academic Plan          
  •   Faculty-Student Engagement
  •   Faculty Scholarship, Recognition and Evaluation
  •   Regional Action Plan
  •   Enrolment Management Plan
  •   Student Learning, Engagement, Retention and Success
  •   Student Services Strategic and Operational Plan
  •   Technology and Systems Infrastructure and Service Plan
  •   The Postsecondary Landscape in Canada
  •   Vision Statement
  •   Campus Master Plan

                             

International Education: Strategic Plan, 2013-2016              

 

Journey (Alumni Magazine), 2008-2014. Continues as VIU Magazine, 2015 -                 

 

Library - Totem, 2009 

  • artists
  • financial statements

 

Mainly Mal, 1976-2008

 

Malaspina University-College Annual Service Plan Report (print) - 2004/2005,  2001/05-2006/07, 2005/06, 2005/06-2007/08

 

Malaspina University-College International Education (print) - Annual Report 1997/98, 1998/99, 2004

 

Navigator, 1969 –

 

Photographs  - Malaspina College Board/ Malaspina College Council/ Malaspina University-College Board/Vancouver Island University Board of Governors, 1969-1989. (missing 1971-1973, 1983-1987)

  • Includes photo of John Macready, 1938-1959  (8x10, B&W, matte), First Principle of British Columbia Vocational School, Nanaimo

           

Portal (VIU Students' Literary Magazine), 1991-

 

Research & Scholarly Activity, 2001-                       

 

Senate Annual Reports

  • Senate Annual Reports, 2008-2014
  • Education Council Annual Reports, 2000-2008

 

Strategic Planning:

Institutional Accountability Plan and Report (prev. title: Vancouver Island University Accountability Plan and Report)

  • Institutional Accountability Plan and Report (2013/14 Reporting Cycle)
  • Institutional Accountability Plan and Report (2012/13 Reporting Cycle)
  • Institutional Accountability Plan and Report (2011/12 Reporting Cycle)
  • Vancouver Island University Enrolment Management Plan
  • Vancouver Island University Academic Plan
  • Institutional Accountability Plan and Report (2010/11 Reporting Cycle)
  • Vancouver Island University Accountability Plan and Report 2010/11-2012/13
  • Vancouver Island University Accountability Plan and Report 2009/10-2011/12
  • Vancouver Island University Accountability Plan and Report 2008/09-201011
  • Vancouver Island University Accountability Plan and Report 2007/08-2009/10
  • Vancouver Island University Institutional Service Plan 2006/07-2008/09

 

Student Handbooks  (Nanaimo)

  • Malaspina Handbook  (Malaspina College, Nanaimo), Malaspina College Student Society, 1971-1978
  • Surviving on the Hill (The MCSS Guide to …), 1985-1996 Members’ Handbook (Malaspina Students’ Union), 1997-1999
  • Member Handbook and Day Planner (Access 2000 CFS, Malaspina Students’ Union), 1999-2000 Student Handbook and Day Planner (Malaspina Students’ Union), 2000-2001
  • Handbook and Day Planner (Malaspina Students’ Union), 2001-2002 Member Handbook & Day Planner (Malaspina Students’ Union), 2002-2007
  • Member Handbook & Day Planner (Malaspina Students’ Union), 2007-2012 Student Guide to Student Programs (Nanaimo), (Alternative title: Malaspina Student Survival Guide), 1997-1998 and 2003-2004

 

University Planning and Analysis:                 

  • Strategic Planning: Institutional Accountability Plan and Report, 2006 -
  • National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) 2014

 

Vancouver Island University Consolidated Financial Statements 

  • Vancouver Island University Consolidated Financial Statements, 2008-2011
  • Malaspina University-College Consolidated Financial Statements, 2000-2008

                                     

Viewbook (VIU Book), 2006 -

           

VIU Special Events

  • 75 Vancouver Island University 1936-2011.  Nanaimo Daily News, Special Publication (re:  VIU 75th Anniversary), Thursday, October 13, 2011, V1-V8
  • University’s Cowichan Campus Opens. Times Colonist, Victoria, BC.  (Newspaper clipping), Friday, September 23, 2001, A3.

                       

VIUFA  Publications - (Vancouver Island University Faculty Association)            

  • Broccoli “Organ of Sedition”, 1990-1992
  • Chalk and Cheese:  VIUFA Newsletter  2010-2011
  • The E-Coli, 2000-2001
  • MCFA Newsletter, March  1998
  • MFA Newsletter, 1999
  • VIUFA  Newsletter, October 2011