Skip to Main Content
Our Pledge
Ask the Library
Library
Toggle navigation
Library Home
About
About us
Hours
Events
Library Staff
Strategic Plan
Library Services & COVID-19
Artwork in the Library
Research
Research Guides
Citation Help
Reference Managers
Databases
Journals
Catalogue
VIUSpace
Special Collections
Google Scholar (VIU Access)
Open Access
Research Data Management
Resources
Interlibrary Loans
Course Reserves for Students
Course Reserves for Faculty
Video Requests for Faculty
Physical Collections and Loan Periods
Services
Library Accounts
VIU Card
Accessible Content
Copyright
Library Instruction
Digital Initiatives
Spaces and Technology
Book an Accessibility Workstation
Book a Media Workstation
Book an A/V Editing Room (Nanaimo)
Book an A/V Editing Room (Cowichan)
Book a Student Study Room (Nanaimo)
Book a Student Study Room (Cowichan)
Book Equipment for Loan
Family Space
Madrona Room
Help
Research Help
Writing Help
FAQs
Library Staff
New Students
New Faculty and Instructors
VIU Library Home
Library Guides @ VIU
INTR 211: Indigenous and Western Sciences of Plants and our Environment
Reference Materials: field guides, etc.
Search guides & events
go
INTR 211: Indigenous and Western Sciences of Plants and our Environment: Reference Materials: field guides, etc.
plants, plant medicines, plant species, plant structure, plant uses, plants and health, plant classification, traditional knowledge of plants, medicine garden, soil microbiology, phototropism, photosynthesis, gravitropism, plasymolysis
Library Info
Books/eBooks - Western Sciences
Reference Materials: field guides, etc.
Indigenous / Xwulmuxw Studies: Ethnobotany Resources
Films
References in the VIU Library - in print
B.C.'s medicinal wild plants
Call Number: SB 294 B75 K46 1999 Stacks
Publication Date: 1999
Nanaimo Campus
Catkin bearing plants of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 203 B7 B72 1996 Stacks
Publication Date: 1996
Nanaimo Campus
Coastal wildflowers of British Columbia and the Pacific Northwest
Call Number: QK 203 B7 H67 1994 Stacks
Publication Date: 1994
Nanaimo Campus
Edible and medicinal plants of the West
Call Number: QK 98.5 U6 T54 1997 Stacks
Publication Date: 1997
Nanaimo Campus
The encyclopedia of medicinal plants
Call Number: RS 164 C4437 1996
Publication Date: 1996
in print, Cowichan and Nanaimo Campus
A field guide to species at risk in the coast forest region of British Columbia
Call Number: QH 77 C3 F53 2003 Stacks
Publication Date: 2003
Nanaimo Campus
Flora of the Queen Charlotte Islands, 1968
Call Number QK 203 B7 C3 pt 1&2 Stacks
in print, Nanaimo Campus
Food plants of coastal first peoples / Nancy Turner
Call Number: QK 98.5 B7 T92 1995 Stacks
Publication Date: 1995
Cowichan, Powell R. and Nanaimo Campus
Food plants of interior First Peoples
Call Number: QK 98.5 B7 T87 1997 Stacks
Publication Date: 1997
Cowichan, Powell R. and Nanaimo Campus
A guide to medicinal wild fruits and berries
Call Number: QK 99 A1 G65 1999 Stacks
Publication Date: 1999
Nanaimo Campus
A guide to some common plants of the southern interior of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 203 B7 A55 Stacks
Publication Date: 1983
Nanaimo Campus
Illustrated flora of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 203 B7 I458 1998, v.1-8
Publication Date: 1998
Cowichan and Nanaimo Campus
An illustrated key to common grass genera, gymnosperms
Call Number: QK 495 G74 I44 1980 Stacks
Publication Date: 1980
Nanaimo Campus
An illustrated key to dicotyledon families of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 495 A12 R34 Stacks
Publication Date: 1981
Nanaimo Campus
An Illustrated key to gymnosperms of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 494 I45 Stacks
Publication Date: 1980
Nanaimo Campus
An illustrated key to monocotyledon families of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 495 A14 R34 Stacks
Publication Date: 1982
Nanaimo Campus
Magill's encyclopedia of science : plant life
Call Number: QK 7 M34 2003 vol. 1-4 Stacks
Publication Date: 2003
in print, Nanaimo Campus
Natural health encyclopedia of herbal medicine
Call Number: RS 164 C4437 2000 Stacks
Publication Date: 2000
in print, Nanaimo Campus
Plants of northern British Columbia
Call Number: QK 203 B7 P43 1997 Stacks
Publication Date: 1999
Nanaimo Campus
Plants of southern interior British Columbia
Call Number: QK 203 B7 P53 1996 Stacks
Publication Date: 1996
Nanaimo Campus
Plant technology of First Peoples in British Columbia
Call Number: E78 B9 T876 2007 Stacks
Publication Date: 1998
Nanaimo and Powell R. Campus
Pondweeds, bur-reeds and their relatives of British Columbia : aquatic families of monocotyledons
Call Number: QK 203 B7 B73 2000 Stacks
Publication Date: 2000
Nanaimo Campus
Propagation of Pacific Northwest native plants
Call Number: SB 439.24 N673 R67 1998 Stacks
Publication Date: 1998
Nanaimo Campus
The sedge family (Cyperaceae)
Call Number: QK 495 C997 T38 Stacks
Publication Date: 1983
Nanaimo and Powell R. Campus
Some common mosses of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 541.7 B7 S36 1992 Stacks
Publication Date: 1992
Nanaimo Campus
Tree book : learning to recognize trees of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 485.2 B7 P37 1994 Stacks
Publication Date: 1994
Cowichan and Nanaimo Campus
- also online
Trees, shrubs & flowers to know in British Columbia & Washington
Call Number: QK 203 B7 L9 1995 Stacks
Publication Date: 1995
Nanaimo Campus
Trees and shrubs of British Columbia/ Brayshaw
Call Number: QK 485.2 B7 B72 1996 Stacks
Publication Date: 1996
The Vascular plants of British Columbia
Call Number: QK 203 B7 V37 part 1-4 Stacks
Publication Date: 1989
Nanaimo Campus
References in the VIU Library - online
The agronomy and economy of turmeric and ginger : the invaluable medicinal spice crops, 2013
Alfalfa and clovers : properties, medicinal uses, and health benefits, 2012
Bioactive food as dietary interventions for diabetes, 2013
Bioactive molecules and medicinal plants , 2008
Commercial cultivation of medicinal and aromatic plants, 2010
The Complete Guide to Edible Wild Plants, 2009
Edible Medicinal and Non- Medicinal Plants, Volume 1, Fruits, 2012
There are 12 volumes in this set. Each must be accessed separately. Volumes 7-12 are not part of the library's collection.
Edible medicinal and non-medicinal plants. Volume 2, Fruits, 2012
Edible medicinal and non-medicinal plants. Volume 3, Fruits, 2012
Edible medicinal and non-medicinal plants. Volume 4, Fruits, 2012
Edible medicinal and non-medicinal plants. Volume 5, Fruits, 2013
Edible medicinal and non-medicinal plants. Volume 6, Fruits, 2013
Essentials of Botanical Extraction : Principles and Applications, 2015
Ethnopharmacology of medicinal plants : Asia and the Pacific, 2006
Evolutionary Ethnobiology, 2015
International law and indigenous knowledge [electronic resource] : intellectual property, plant biodiversity and traditional medicine, 2006
Magill's encyclopedia of science : plant life, 2003
Medicinal plant research in Africa: pharmacology and chemistry, 2013
Medicinal plants : classification, biosynthesis and pharmacology, 2009
Medicinal plants: their role in health and biodiversity, 1998
Medicinal plants and sustainable development, 2011
Medicinal plants of the world : chemical constituents, traditional and modern medicinal uses, 2005
Microbial Quality of Medicinal Plant Materials, 2012
Molecular mechanisms of plant and microbe coexistence, 2008
Phytochemicals and human health : pharmacological and molecular aspects, 2011
Plant extracts : role in agriculture, health effects and medical applications, 2013
Seaweeds and their role in globally changing environments, 2010
Soil health and climate change, 2011
Soil microbes and environmental health, 2011
Soil nutrients, 2012
Spices : types, uses, and health benefits, 2012
Western biomedicine and Eastern therapeutics : an integrative strategy for personalized and preventive healthcare, 2013
<<
Previous:
Books/eBooks - Western Sciences
Next:
Indigenous / Xwulmuxw Studies: Ethnobotany Resources >>
VIU Footer
About VIU
Careers at VIU
Parking
Academics
International Students
Library
Programs and Courses
VIULearn
Campuses
Nanaimo (Main Campus)
Cowichan
Parksville-Qualicum Centre
Powell River
About VIU
Why VIU?
Administration
Careers at VIU
VIU Facts
Events
Media
News
Parking
Academics
Admission Requirements
Dual Credit
Financial Aid and Awards
Graduate Programs
International Students
Library
Online Education
Programs and Courses
Registration
Transfer Students
VIULearn
Student Life
Student Housing
Campus Recreation
Campus Store
Food Services
Health and Wellness
Services for Students
VIU Mariners Athletics
Campuses
Campus Information
Nanaimo (Main Campus)
Cowichan
tiwšɛmawtxʷ (Powell River)
Vancouver Island University
900 Fifth Street
Nanaimo, BC
V9R 5S5
Canada
250.753.3245
1.888.920.2221
info@viu.ca
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
Youtube
LinkedIn
The VIU community acknowledges and thanks the Snuneymuxw, Quw’utsun and Tla’amin, on whose traditional lands we teach, learn, research, live and share knowledge.
Accreditation
Terms
Emergency Information
Report a Problem
