Library Guides @ VIU: Fisheries & Aquaculture: Reference Materials

Reference Books - Online

The following titles are examples of online Reference Materials available in the VIU Library for the areas of Fisheries & Aquaculture.

Accuracy of Acoustic Methods in Fish Stock Assessment Surveys, 2011
Adverse Effect of Insecticides on Various Aspects of Fish’s Biology and Physiology, 2012
Aquaculture Economics and Financing : Management and Analysis
Confronting the blue revolution : industrial aquaculture, 2013 and sustainability in the Global South
Darwin's fishes : an encyclopedia of ichthyology, ecology, and evolution
The Diversity of Fishes: Biology, Evolution and Ecology, 2nd edition
Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology: from genome to environment - (by Farrell)
Encyclopedia of underwater life
Environmental effects of marine finfish aquaculture
Fish Diseases and Disorders, Volume 1 : Protozoan and Metazoan Infections
Note: Volume 1 is also available in print format, located in the stacks: SH 171 F575 2006 V.1
Fish Diseases and Disorders, Volume 2 : Non-Infectious Disorders
Note: Volume 1 is also available in print format, located in the stacks: SH 171 F575 2006
Fish Diseases and Disorders, Volume 3 : Viral, Bacterial and Fungal Infections
Note: Volume 1 is also available in print format, located in the stacks: SH 171 F575 2006
Fish disease : diagnosis and treatment , 2010 (2nd edition)
Fishery co-management : a practical handbook, 2006
The future of aquaculture feeds, 2014
Handbook of physical, chemical, phytoplankton, and zooplankton data from Hecate Strait, Dixon Entrance, Goos Island Bank and Queen Charlotte Sound
Hatchery Culture of Bivalves: a Practical Manual - (Bourne and Helm)
- a valuable resource for culturing bivalves (free full text)
- scroll down the page to the Table of Contents
Implementing improved tenure governance in fisheries : a technical guide to support the implementation of the voluntary guidelines on the responsible governance of tenure of land, fisheries and forests in the context of national food security, 2013
- (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nation)
The Lake Sturgeon in Ontario
Manual of best practices for age determination of North Pacific Albacore Tuna, 2015
"Made available online by DesLibris."
Physiology of Fishes/ David Evans, 4th ed., 2013
QL 639.1 P49 2014 (ONLINE)
Salmonid Fisheries : Freshwater Habitat Management
Site selection and carrying capacities for inland and coastal aquaculture, 2013
Uncertain future of Fraser River sockeye. Vol. 1, The Sockeye fishery, 2013
- available online by DesLibris
Uncertain future of Fraser River sockeye. Volume 2, Causes of the decline, 2013
- "made available by DesLibris"
Uncertain future of Fraser River sockeye. Volume 3, Recommendations - summary - process, 2013
- "made available by DesLibris"

Reference Books - Print

The following titles are examples of print Reference Materials available in the VIU Library for the areas of Fisheries & Aquaculture.

Aquatic habitat assessment : common methods
Call Number: SH 157.8 A68 1999 Stacks
Complete encyclopedia of the freshwater aquarium
Call Number: SF 456.5 D28 2001 Stacks
Darwin's fishes : an encyclopedia of ichthyology, ecology, and evolution
Call Number: QL 614.7 P38 2004 Stacks
Encyclopaedia of fisheries and aquaculture, 2013
Call Number: SH 20.3 E53 2013 V.1-7 Stacks
vol. 1-7
Encyclopedia of aquaculture
Call Number: SH 20.3 E53 2000 Stacks
Encyclopedia of Canadian fishes
Call Number: QL 626 C63 1995 Stacks
Encyclopedia of fishes
Call Number: QL 614.7 E539 1998 Stacks
Encyclopedia of underwater life : aquatic invertebrates and fishes
Call Number: QL 120 E63 2005 Stacks
Finfish and shellfish bacteriology manual : techniques and procedures
Call Number: QR 321 W48 2003 Stacks
Fish collection methods and standards
Call Number: ENV-WWR 7621 Government Publications
Fish Diseases and Disorders
Call Number: SH 171 F575 2006 V.1 Stacks
Note: See the electronic Reference Materials list for links to Volume 2 & 3.
The fisheries of North America : an illustrated guide to commercial species
Call Number: SH 219 R63 2005 Stacks
A fishery manager's guidebook
Call Number: SH 328 F576 2009 Stacks
Fish stock assessment manual
Call Number: SH 331.5 S74 C33 2003 Stacks
Glossary of fish health terms
Call Number: QL 614.7 A4 Stacks
Handbook of fish biology and fisheries
Call Number: QL 615 H36 2002 V.1-2 Stacks
Handbook of physical, chemical, phytoplankton, and zooplankton data from Hecate Strait, Dixon Entrance, Goos Island Bank and Queen Charlotte Sound
Call Number: FS97-13/1162E Government Publications (Main Floor)
Handbook of salmon farming
Call Number: SH 167 S17 H34 2002 Stacks
Hatchery culture of bivalves : a practical manual
Call Number: QL 430.6 H455 2004 Stacks
Live feeds in marine aquaculture
Call Number: SH 156 L56 2003 Stacks
PBS modelling 1 : user's guide, 2006
Call Number: FS97-6/2674E Government Publications
The physiology of fishes / David Evans, 2006
Call Number: QL 639.1 P49 2006
Salmonid field protocols handbook : techniques for assessing status and trends in salmon and trout populations
Call Number: QL 638 S2 S244 2007 Stacks
Sampling methods applied to fisheries science : a manual
Call Number: SH 327.5 S26 2005 Stacks

Library

Fisheries & Aquaculture

Reference Books - Online

Reference Books - Print

About VIU

Academics

Campuses

About VIU

Academics

Student Life

Campuses