Skip to main content

Does the Library@VIU have the journal I need?: Finding a full text article from a reference

How to use the Journals search and "Where can I get this item" to find full text sources from article citations.

Outcomes

Working through this guide will assist you to:

  • Determine if VIU Library has full text (subscription) access to a particular article
  • Locate the full text article online or in print if subscription access is available
  • Order the article from another library if subscription access is not available

Three Good Tools

When you have found a reference to a journal article that you would like to track down in full text, there are a couple of tools you can use to find out if the VIU Library has subscription access to the journal in which the article is published.

Journals A-Z is the most efficient tool to use when you have found a reference to a journal article from a course reading list, or a bibliography in a book or another article, and want to track it down.

"Where can I get this item?" links are the most efficient way to track down full text articles when you find citations for articles in an article database search.

Interlibrary loan is a process for obtaining articles to which the VIU Library does not have access - by getting them in for you from another library.

Follow the tabs along the top of this guide to learn more about these tools.

 

Contact Us!

Librarians 
 contact info

email appointments

Call us

Nanaimo:

250.740.6330        

Cowichan:

250.746.3517         

Powell River:

604.485.8044           

Chat (AskAway)

Research assistance

 in person

Nanaimo:
 M - F
 9am - 4pm

...also available at Cowichan & Powell River campus libraries

Follow VIULibrary on Twitter

Library Contacts

Website