Login to RefWorks
RefWorks mobile
Mobile interface to RefWorks - search and add to your RefWorks database on the go.
RefMobile is accessed using your Group Code and the RefWorks login information that you create. Contact the Library for your group code.
Off-campus Access to RefWorks
Log in with your Student or Employee ID and Library PIN. Since RefWorks is a licensed resource, to access RefWorks from off-campus you will need to log in to the library's proxy server, as with other licensed library databases. Can't remember your Library PIN? Email it to yourself.
Using Write-N-Cite at home. While RefWorks is web-based, the Write-N-Cite utility, which allows you to integrate your RefWorks citations into Microsoft Word documents, must be downloaded and installed on your own computer. To Configure Write-N-Cite for off-campus use, see these instructions.
Access to RefWorks from other post-secondary institutions: If you are trying to access your VIU Refworks account from another institution with a RefWorks license, you may need the VIU "group code" in order to log in. The group code will be emailed to you when you set up your individual RefWorks account, or you can contact us to get the group code.
Group Code
You may be asked to enter a "group code" when accessing RefWorks or Write-N-Cite remotely. The group code will be emailed to you when you set up your individual RefWorks account, or you can email the Library, providing your name and your Student or Employee ID number, to get the group code.
About RefWorks
Create, import, store and organize references. RefWorks is a web-based tool for managing bibliographic citations. You can build your own database of citations, or references, by:
- importing records from library catalogues, article databases, RSS feeds and web sites.
- creating your own citations manually.
Generate bibliographies. Once you have citations in your database, you can automatically generate bibliographies in hundreds of styles, from journal-specific formats to more standard styles like APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Format Word documents with in-text citations and Works Cited lists. You can also generate in-text citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word by using the Write-N-Cite utility.
Write-N-Cite
You can generate in-text citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word documents by using the Write-N-Cite utility. Write-N-Cite is not web-based - you must download and install the utility on your computer in order to use it (NB - Write-N-Cite is already installed on VIU lab computers - look for it under Programs --> RefWorks --> Write-N-Cite.)
Download Write-N-Cite for Windows or Mac now!
To configure Write-N-Cite for off-campus use, follow the instructions below:
For Windows users:
- Download and install Write-N-Cite.
- Go to Start --> Programs --> Refworks and start up the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility.
- The utility will ask you to enter a proxy server URL -- type
http://ezproxy.viu.ca/login?url=http://refworks.scholarsportal.info/?WNC=true
into this field and click OK.
For Macintosh users:
RefGrab-It
RefGrab-It allows you to export bibliographic information from web pages to your RefWorks database.
In Internet Explorer:
-
Right-click on this link: RefGrab-It
-
Click on "Add to Favorites..."
-
Click Yes on the message about adding a favourite that may not be safe
-
Add the favourite to the "Links" subfolder of your IE Favorites - this will display RefGrab-It in your browser toolbar
In other browsers such as Firefox:
-
Drag-and-drop this link, RefGrab-It, to your browser toolbar.
When you find a web page and want to add the reference to your RefWorks database, click on the RefGrab-It bookmark in your browser toolbar. RefGrab-It will display the bibliographic information it obtained from the web page. Click the "Import" button to add the reference to your RefWorks database.
Technical notes:
-
You must have pop-up blockers turned off to use RefGrab-It.
-
When using RefGrab-It off-campus, you will need to enter VIU's group code for RefWorks. You can find the group code in the email message that RefWorks sent you when you signed up for an account, or email the VIU Library.
Questions or problems? Please contact the VIU Library by email or by phone at (250) 740-6151.
Contact Us!
VIU Library
Contact Info:
250 740 6151
Send Email
New to RefWorks?
Create your own RefWorks account in which to store your personal database of citations (if you are accessing the site from off-campus, you will need to log in with your Student or Employee ID number and Library PIN).
After creating your account, you will receive a welcome email containing instructions for accessing RefWorks.
Workshops, Tutorials & Help
RefWorks help comes in several forms:
- Drop-in RefWorks workshops in the Library
- QuickStart Guide (available in several languages)
- RefWorks Tutorial (animated online tutorial with sound)
- Online RefWorks workshops ("webinars")
- Contact the VIU Library Reference Desk in person, by email or by phone at (250) 740-6151
Technical Tips
Write-N-Cite and Word 2007. Two versions of Write-N-Cite are available for download:
- Write-N-Cite for Windows III with support for Microsoft Office 2007 and Windows Vista
- Write-N-Cite for Windows II with support for Windows XP and Office 2003 and lower
Direct export from ScienceDirect doesn't work off-campus. You will need to manually export your citations from ScienceDirect and import them into your RefWorks database. Follow these instructions in the RefWorks help file (see the section "To Manually Save and Export Records").
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait