Decolonizing Research by
From Oceania to North America, indigenous peoples have created storytelling traditions of incredible depth and diversity. The term "indigenous storywork" has come to encompass the sheer breadth of ways in which indigenous storytelling serves as a historical record, as a form of teaching and learning, and as an expression of indigenous culture and identity. But such traditions have too often been relegated to the realm of myth and legend, recorded as fragmented distortions, or erased altogether. Decolonizing Research brings together indigenous researchers and activists from Canada, Australia, and New Zealand to assert the unique value of indigenous storywork as a focus of research, and to develop methodologies that rectify the colonial attitudes inherent in much past and current scholarship. By bringing together their own indigenous perspectives, and by treating indigenous storywork on its own terms, the contributors illuminate valuable new avenues for research, and show how such reworked scholarship can contribute to the movement for indigenous rights and self-determination.
Nanaimo
Research Methodology: A Project Guide for University Students by
For university and college students who are looking for guidelines when writing for a research project. It describes some of the most influential methods in social science and speaks directly to students without any prior knowledge of project work... takes the reader through the essential features of the project work process and guides students in making key decisions that will reduce the anxieties they are likely to experience in their research process.
The book also introduces students to the nature of their group work process and provides guidelines on how to work with other students in order to produce good projects. It is intended as a supplementary textbook for courses in research methodology, for bachelor and master's degree students.
Highlights:
* structure of projects
* research design
* the role of theories in research projects
* paradigms and philosophy of science
* qualitative and quantitative data collection methods and techniques
* mixed research methods.
Indigenous Methodologies: Characteristics, Conversations, and Contexts by
What are Indigenous research methodologies, and how do they unfold? Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several western qualitative approaches, they remain distinct.
These are the focal considerations of Margaret Kovach's study,which offers guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies. Kovach includes topics such as Indigenous epistemologies, decolonizing theory, story as method, situating self and culture, Indigenous methods, protocol, meaning-making, and ethics.
Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies by
The Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies is the only handbook to make connections regarding many of the perspectives of the "new" critical theorists and emerging indigenous methodologies. Built on the foundation of the landmark SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research, the Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies extends beyond the investigation of qualitative inquiry itself to explore the indigenous and nonindigenous voices that inform research, policy, politics, and social justice. Editors Norman K. Denzin, Yvonna S. Lincoln, and Linda Tuhiwai Smith explore in depth some of the newer formulations of critical theories and many indigenous perspectives, and seek to make transparent the linkages between the two. Key Features - Contains global examples including South African, Hawaiian, Maori, Central African and Islamic ones. * Includes a "Who's Who" of educators and researchers in critical methodologies. * Provides a comprehensive body of work that represents the state of the art for critical methodologies and indigenous discourses * Covers the history of critical and indigenous theory and how it came to inform and impact qualitative research * Offers an historical representation of critical theory, critical pedagogy, and indigenous discourse. * Explores critical theory and action theory, and their hybrid discourses: PAR, feminism, action research, social constructivism, ethnodrama, community action research, poetics. * Presents a candid conversation between indigenous and nonindigenous discourses. This Handbook serves as a guide to help Western researchers understand the new and reconfigured territories they might wish to explore.
Research Is Ceremony by
Describing a research paradigm shared by indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, this study demonstrates how this standard can be put into practice. Portraying indigenous researchers as knowledge seekers who work to progress indigenous ways of being, knowing, and doing in a constantly evolving context, this examination shows how relationships both shape indigenous reality and are vital to reality itself. These same knowledge seekers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony of maintaining accountability. Envisioning researchers as accountable to all relations, this overview proves that careful choices should be made regarding selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis, and the way in which information is presented.
Doing Your Undergraduate Project by
Guide to managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. The book covers all aspects of project management, explaining in a clear and structured way how to undertake a project and helping readers to identify and acquire the necessary skills to plan and carry out the research and writing:
· Advice for preparing a project and choosing a topic
· Guidelines for writing a project proposal
· A checklist for planning
· A guide to producing a literature review
· Advice on choosing and implementing appropriate methodology
· An awareness of ethical issues
· Information for writing-up the report
Decolonizing Methodologies by
This essential volume explores the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge, and argues that the decolonization of research methods will help reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. This eagerly awaited second edition includes substantial revisions, with important additions on new indigenous literature and the role of research in indigenous struggles for social justice, bringing this best-selling book up to date.
Series: Research Methods in the Social Sciences
Introduction to designing experiments. Films Media Group, Uniview Worldwide, Films for the Humanities & and Sciences. (2006). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Inferential statistics. Films Media Group, Uniview Worldwide, Films for the Humanities & and Sciences. (2006). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Organizing quantitative data. Films Media Group, Uniview Worldwide, Films for the Humanities & and Sciences . (2006). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Exploring qualitative methods. Films Media Group, Uniview Worldwide, Films for the Humanities & and Sciences (Firm) (Directors). (2006).[Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Experimental research methods in psychology. Films Media Group, Films for the Humanities &, Sciences and Online Classroom Ltd . (2009). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Non-experimental research methods in psychology. Films Media Group, Films for the Humanities &, Sciences and Online Classroom Ltd. (2009). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Doing sociological research. Films Media Group, Films for the Humanities &, Sciences and Online Classroom Ltd. (2009). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Sociological theory and methods. Films Media Group, Films for the Humanities &, Sciences and Online Classroom Ltd. (2009). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
Researching health: Research methods made accessible. Films Media Group (2008). [Video/DVD] New York, N.Y: Films Media Group.
VIU Library | email:library@viu.ca | Nanaimo: 250.740.6330 | Cowichan: 250.746.3517 | tiwšɛmawtxʷ: 1.888.920.2221 ext.6330 |
Report a Problem
