Library Guides @ VIU: Indigenous Organizations: Directories and Guides

Finding Indigenous Organizations: Directories and Guides

When searching for information about Indigenous organizations try one of these search terms together with other words that describe the *kind* of organization that you're looking for:

organizations (plural), guide, directory, listing

For example: first nations health directory

A few resources that list Indigenous organizations in BC or in Canada:

Indigenous Business Directory | Indigenous Services of Canada
"An online directory that allows procurement officers and the private sector to identify Indigenous businesses." Detailed company search
Aboriginal Peoples Organizations British Columbia | Turtle Island Native Network
BC Directories | First Nations in BC
"The Directory includes comprehensive lists of First Nations communities, organizations, and partners."
First Nations Profiles | Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
"The First Nation Profiles is a collection of information that describes individual First Nation communities across Canada. The profiles include general information on a First Nation along with more detailed information about its reserve(s), governance, federal funding, geography, registered population statistics and various Census statistics."
First Nations and Indigenous Studies: Associations | Xwi7xwa Library. University of British Columbia
Guide to Indigenous Organizations and Services | Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation, British Columbia
Directory of community-based services and organizations in BC, most of which are Aboriginal controlled and not-for-profit. Includes pronunciation guide and affiliations.
Data file available for download in .xls format.
Organizations | iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
Links to websites, articles, eBooks, theses, oral history, images, archival and other material, arranged by relationship to corresponding current and historical organizations: AFN, NIB, CAP (Congress of Aboriginal Peoples), First Nation & Treaty Organizations, Women's organizations ...
Examples for practice

Indigenous Organizations: Selected Resources

Cowichan Tribes
Hul'qumi'num Treaty Group
more...less...
Captures of Hul'qumi'num Treaty Group website pages by the Internet Archive (HTG website no longer online as of 2018 October).
The HTG was founded in 1993 to negotiate a comprehensive treaty with BC and Canada on behalf of these nations: Cowichan, Chemainus, Penelakut, Lyackson, Halalt, and Lake Cowichan.
K'ómoks First Nation: Comox
Tla'amin First Nation
Snuneymuxw First Nation
Stz'uminus First Nation
National Association of Friendship Centres

Indigenous: NGO's and Advocacy

Aboriginal Rights Coalition of BC
Assembly of First Nations
Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
more...less...
CAP represents the interests of "off-reserve status and non-status Indians, Métis and Southern Inuit Aboriginal Peoples."
First Nations Summit (BC)
more...less...
"The First Nations Summit is comprised of a majority of First Nations and Tribal Councils in British Columbia and provides a forum for First Nations in BC to address issues related to Treaty negotiations as well as other issues of common concern."
Metis National Council
Native Women's Association Canada
State of the World's Indigenous People, 2009 (UN)
Volume 1
more...less...
Global survey of the state of indigenous peoples worldwide; covers health, culture, well-being, education, and human rights
State of the World's Indigenous People, 2015 (UN)
Volume 2
more...less...
"This publication sets out to examine the major challenges for indigenous peoples to obtain adequate
access to and utilization of quality health care services. It provides an important background
to many of the health issues that indigenous peoples are currently facing."
Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
more...less...
"The National Representational Organization Protecting and Advancing the Rights and Interests of Inuit in Canada."
First Nations Information Governance Centre

Library

Indigenous Organizations

Finding Indigenous Organizations: Directories and Guides

Indigenous Organizations: Selected Resources

Indigenous: NGO's and Advocacy

About VIU

Academics

Campuses

About VIU

Academics

Student Life

Campuses